press release - Tri-Basin Natural Resources District

News release
January 29, 2015
For immediate publication
For more information contact John Thorburn at:
Tri-Basin NRD Holdrege NE
(308) 995-6688
Gov. Ricketts praises NRDs as “envy of the nation”
during state conference
Governor Pete Ricketts praised Nebraska’s Natural Resources Districts (NRDs)
for their work to protect the state’s natural resources during a speech at the at the
Nebraska Association of Resources Districts (NARD) annual legislative conference in
Lincoln on January 27. He called Nebraska’s system of locally-controlled natural
resources districts the “envy of the nation” and credited NRDs with managing
Nebraska’s soil and water resources in a sustainable manner. Protecting lives,
property and the future are core values of Nebraska’s NRDs.
The NARD hosted hundreds of directors and staff from natural resources
districts around the state, including six members of the Tri-Basin Natural Resources
District (NRD) board of directors. Directors also discussed natural resources-related
legislation pending in the Nebraska Unicameral with state senators during this
Directors from Nebraska’s 23 NRDs work closely with NARD staff to advise state
decision-makers and help shape natural resources policy. Pending legislation this
session includes LB 208, a proposal from Tri-Basin NRD to exempt owners of small
dams in Nebraska from burdensome regulation by the state. Other bills discussed by
directors include a bill that will strengthen the Erosion and Sediment Control Act (LB
206) and creation of a state aquatic invasive species program to further protect
Nebraska lakes and streams from harmful Zebra Mussels (LB 142).
NRD directors also attended numerous educational presentations during the
conference. These included sessions on flood control in the Papio Creek watershed in
Omaha, USDA conservation programs, controlling Eastern Redcedars in pastureland
and watershed management planning. Tri-Basin directors who attended the meeting
were: David Nickel, David Olsen Mike Cavanaugh and David Raffety from Kearney
County, Brian Bergstrom of Phelps County and Larry Reynolds from Gosper County.