Qualifying Policy - National Scholastic Athletics Foundation

The New Balance High School Mile
In honor of Larry Byrne
contested at The Millrose Games
February 14th, 2015 at The Armory
2015 Qualifying Policy
Twelve boys and girls will be selected
All auto-qualifying must be done in races at The Armory during the 2014-2015
For automatic bids, only the winner will receive an invitation. 2nd, 3rd, 4th (etc)
places will not slide up into auto qualifying spots if the runners in front decline the
invitation or if they have already qualified.
Once all of the automatic bids have been handed out the next three fastest
runners from races at The Armory will be invited – bringing the total athletes
invited from the Armory to eight.
Exceptional athletes from out of the area will be invited as well. Invitations will be
selected based in times run during the 2014-2015 indoor season. Rare exceptions
may be made for boys who have run under 4:10 and girls who have run under
4:50 last spring.
Full Fields will be posted on ArmoryTrack.com February 1st
**Bishop Loughlin Games
December 20th
Marine Corps Holiday Classic December 29th
Hispanic Games
January 10th
Millrose Trials Night
January 14th
New Balance Games
January 24th
Winner depending on time
** The Winner of the Loughlin Games will only receive an invitation if they have broken
4:20/5:00 at some point in their career as of 1/16/15. Otherwise those invitations
become “at large” bids.
Race Selection Advisory Committee
Tim Fulton, Alicia York, Mike Lang , Jack Pfeifer, John Nepolitan, Bassett Thompson, Patrick Tomasiewicz,
Ray Flynn, Larry Byrne